The Bombing Of Al-Bara (Ruins of a Dead City)

Upon Reflection of my last four previous works, I decided to select the elements that worked best in order to build something with successful elements aswell as adding something new. The elements i chose focused on creating a mood and atmosphere in an environment to provide an emotional experience for the senses.

I chose to focus on Lighting as a key part of setting a mood (I used an LED light with a coloured sheet of plastic), A Soundtrack again, this time being a Synthesised wash of sound of an emotional piece of music i had written and a film being played on one or more box Televisions.

The main idea that i was interested in was focusing the work on a new and relevant topic, the soundtrack i had made seemed to have a remorseful and tragic element to it which turned my head to looking at the suffering and terrible events that are happening in and around the country of Syria and its respective region. I decided to add the music as a soundtrack to a clip of amateur footage from a bombing attack on the Dead city of Al-Bara in Syria, which i decided to sample. (The Film shown on the TV’S Can be seen below)

I brought in the element of Nicolas Bourriaud’s ‘Relational Aesthetics’ and decided as the soundtrack was originally written as part of a relaxation tape, to bring fitness/yoga mats into the piece for the audience to take part in and sit on them whilst engaging with the film. (A clip from the complete piece can be seen below).

I think the piece overall is fairly successful, it feels more like a stepping stone than a completely successful finished piece, but it combines the successful elements of my last Four Works and with possible themes/subject matters as a future direction with my next series of works. I think i need to spend a lot more time in future looking at how i can get original footage and make a film myself, as his was sampled, but apart from that im pleased that all the other elements are original and the combination of e.g. a certain style of LED lighting and music will hopefully start to create a unique look to my work.

 

 

Leave a comment